Youth Music Awards – Vote for Matthew Nealis!

We are delighted to share the news that some of the young musicians we work with have been shortlisted for the Youth Music Awards, in association with Hal Leonard Europe.

Three participants in DM projects – Matthew Nealis, Ey5Z and Ruby Lambert – have all been recognised by the judges and shortlisted for an award. Matthew’s is up for public vote, so read on to find out how you can support him!

The Awards received over 600 applications and the shortlists were decided by a panel of music industry figures from 1Xtra, YouTube Music, Capitol Records, Columbia Records, Virgin EMI, Live Nation, Black Butter, Vice Media, Ninja Tunes, Amazon Music UK and many more.

Carien Meijer, Chief Executive of Drake Music, commented:

“Being shortlisted is a huge honour for these musicians, who have been selected from hundreds of applications from across the country.

This shows the quality of the music being made by young Disabled musicians in the UK and the whole Drake Music team are hugely proud of each shortlisted artist and inspired by their creativity.”

Original Track Award, sponsored by TikTok

Album cover featuring Matthew smiling
Matthew Nealis was been nominated by DM Associate Musician Jon Hering for the Original Track Award, sponsored by TikTok. His fantastic track has been shortlisted and is now up for public vote!

We urge you to go and take a minute to vote for Bell’s Gone for the Bell now!

Breakthrough Award, sponsored by the MU

We are also celebrating Ruby Lambert who has been shortlisted for the Breakthrough Award, which celebrates a participant who’s made outstanding personal progress and/or overcome significant barriers. Ruby is part of our Soundbox ensemble which we run in partnership with THAMES and London Symphony Orchestra.

Music Producer Award, sponsored by Steinberg

A young woman looks at the camera with a slightly defiant expression

Ey5z has been shortlisted for outstanding technical skills in music production, engineering, mixing and/or mastering for her track Dirt on My Name feat. Breezy.

Also nominated in this category is another member of the wider Drake Music family; Nick (aka Prynox) was a Trainee AM on the Emergent Trainee programme and also worked on the Electric Storm Ensemble project. He’s now a member of Bristol Music Trusts’s Flow Collective.

The Youth Music Awards marks the 20th anniversary of Youth Music and will take place on Wednesday 16 October 2019 at Battersea Arts Centre, London, where the winners will be announced.

Read more about Ruby, Ey5z and Matthew on the Youth Music Awards website.

And don’t forget…

Vote for Matthew in the Original Track Award


Youth Music logo

Leave a Reply