Drake Music Commission: Lucy Hale ‘In the wind’


Title: In the Wind
Composer: Lucy Hale
Performers: Members of London Philharmonic Orchestra’s Foyle Future Firsts Programme

Lucy Hale was awarded the Drake Music & London Philharmonic ‘Compose’ commission in 2016.

Lucy created a short piece for flute, trumpet, violin, viola and cello, loosely based on W.B. Yeats’ poem “To a Child Dancing in the Wind”. Lucy took this poem as inspiration and then used Sibelius composing software to create her final piece.

Film: Rebel Films Production
Players: Violin – Kalliopi Mitropoulou
Viola – Cameron Campbell
Cello – Leo Melvin
Flute – Alyson Frazier
Trumpet – Paul Bosworth